skip to content
Department of Anesthesia & Pain Management Logo

Grants and Awards

Sinai Health System

Dr. James Khan was successful in grant submissions to the Canadian Institute of Health Research and the Canadian Anesthesiologists Society New Investigator Grant. He also served as a Co-Investigator on successful grant submissions to CIHR, McMaster University General Internal Medicine Research Grant, Dental Faculty Seed Grant, WCH AFP Innovation Fund, and Michael G. DeGroote Institute for Pain Research & Care. Dr. Flamer was successful as a Co-investigator on two successful grant submissions. Dr. Sheppard was awarded the Women’s College Hospital People’s Choice Award.

Toronto General Hospital

Dr. Katz was awarded a York University Research Leaders Award in recognition of his excellence in research.   Dr. Clarke received several pier reviewed grants. 

Toronto Western Hospital

Dr. Gui Santos was a recipient of the Early Career Investigator award from the Spine Intervention Society for his randomized clinical trial comparing two different approaches to radiofrequency ablation of cervical facet joints (mentor: Dr. Bhatia).  Dr. Hoydonckx was successful as Principal Investigator, Canadian Pain Society/Pfizer Early Career Investigator Pain Research Grant, she was awarded the WCH Marion Hilliard Trust Fund Award, she was successful as a Co-Investigator/Collaborator for grant submissions to CIHR, UofT Merit Award, WCH AFP Innovation Grant and the winner of the inaugural anesthesia clinical trials unit departmental innovation award. Dr. Peng was successful as Principal Investigator for a UofT Merit Award and for a PSI Foundation Grant. He was also awarded the Distinguished Service Award from the Canadian Pain Society, Distinguished Service Award from the European Society of Regional Anesthesia, and the John J. Bonica Award by the American Society of Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine. Dr Kumar was awarded the MD Teaching Program Award of Excellence by the University of Toronto for undergraduate medical education 2021-2022.